Skip to main content
The Roles tab (Figure 1) of the Edit Client drawer allows you to manage client roles and rates. Essentially, by assigning roles to a client, you are establishing a client “rate card”, that can then be leveraged by the projects under that client. In order to edit a client, you must have access to the client and also have the Edit Client permission set on your security role. Often times, roles and corresponding bill rates are defined for a client within a Master Services Agreement or some other contract vehicle. In these circumstances, you may wish to define these roles and rates on a client in Ruddr, such that those roles and rates are established and available to projects created for that client.
From the Edit Client drawer, Workspace Admins can Assign Workspace Roles/Rates to a Client

Figure 1 - From the Edit Client drawer, Workspace Admins can Assign Workspace Roles/Rates to a Client

There are two ways to add client roles to the client:
  1. Leverage workspace roles and rates
  2. Create roles and assign rates

Leverage Workspace Roles and Rates

Ruddr provides workspace admins with the ability to define a standard rate card of Workspace Roles and Rates within the Custom Data section of Workspace Settings. Once these roles are established, they are available to be used on clients throughout the workspace. Note that a member must have a combination of certain permissions on their security role to leverage workspace roles on a client. This restriction on who can apply workspace roles is due to the sensitivity of established bill rates. In order to use workspace roles on a client, a member’s security role must contain the following permissions:
  • Create client
  • Access all clients
  • Edit all clients this member can access
There are two ways to leverage workspace roles and rates on a client:
  1. Add workspace roles and rates - Copies the role and rate onto the client, where you can edit it independently of the workspace.
  2. Link to workspace roles and rates - Keeps the role and rate tied to the workspace, so it is read-only on the client and reflects any changes made in Custom Data.
Both are available from the Add a Workspace Role button on the Roles tab (Figure 1). The button adds a single workspace role, and its action menu offers Add all Workspace Roles, Link to a Workspace Role, and Link to all Workspace Roles.

Add a Workspace Role

To “add” a workspace role and rate is to use the predefined role and rate on the client without being linked to the original record. The role and rate can be added to the client and is thereafter editable as part of the client record. On the Roles tab, clicking the Add a Workspace Role button will present a list of workspace-level project roles (Figure 2) established in Custom Data. Selecting one of these roles will add the role and the corresponding rate to the client (Figure 3). To narrow the list, search by role name, practice, business unit, location, or discipline, or use the Practice, Business Unit, Location, and Discipline filters above the list. Practice, Business Unit, and Discipline appear only when those features are enabled. The checkbox in the header selects every role shown in the filtered list. Roles that are already on the client can’t be selected.
From the Edit Client drawer, Workspace Admins can Add Workspace Roles/Rates to a Client

Figure 2 - From the Edit Client drawer, Workspace Admins can Add Workspace Roles/Rates to a Client

A Workspace Role has been Added to the Client

Figure 3 - A Workspace Role has been Added to the Client

Add All Workspace Roles

To add every workspace-level role and rate to the client at once, click the action menu (Figure 4) of the Add a Workspace Role button and choose Add all Workspace Roles, effectively adding the entire rate card for the workspace. As with a single added role, these roles can be edited on the client.
Opt to Add all Workspace-Defined Roles

Figure 4 - Opt to Add all Workspace-Defined Roles

To “link” to workspace roles and rates is to create a linked relationship between the client and the roles and rates established for the workspace. When a workspace administrator links to roles and rates, the following relationship is established:
  • Any linked roles and rates on the client are read-only; these are not editable via the client.
  • Any changes to the workspace roles and rates will propagate to all clients that are linked to them.
On the Roles tab, clicking the Link to a Workspace Role action item of the Add a Workspace Role button will present a list of workspace-level project roles (Figure 5) established in Custom Data. Selecting one of these roles will add the linked role and the corresponding rate to the client. The same search and filters are available here as when adding workspace roles.
Select from a List of Workspace Roles to Link to Client

Figure 5 - Select from a List of Workspace Roles to Link to Client

To link every workspace-level role and rate to the client at once, click the action menu (Figure 6) of the Add a Workspace Role button and choose Link to all Workspace Roles, effectively linking the entire rate card for the workspace.
Opt to Link to all Workspace-Defined Roles

Figure 6 - Opt to Link to all Workspace-Defined Roles

Whether you link roles one at a time or all at once, linked roles can be deleted from the client but not edited (Figure 7).
Linked Roles can not be Edited

Figure 7 - Linked Roles can not be Edited

Create Client Roles

To create a client role, you will need Edit client permissions on your security role. To create a new role, simply click the + Quick Add button at the bottom of the Client Roles list. This will allow you to type in the name of the new role (Figure 8); optionally select a role practice, business unit, location, and / or discipline; set the role as either billable or non-billable; and provide a rate for billable roles. Practices, business units, locations, and disciplines are set by your Workspace Admin in Custom Data, and they are used to group associated roles together for reporting purposes.
Specify the Details of the Role you are Adding to the Client

Figure 8 - Specify the Details of the Role you are Adding to the Client

Delete a Role

A client role can be deleted by using the menu on the right side of the row (Figure 9). If you have Edit client permissions, you can delete a role from the client.
Delete a Client Role

Figure 9 - Delete a Client Role